What are the three types of health professional shortage areas HPSA )?

Spread the love

There are three categories of HPSA designation based on the health discipline that is experiencing a shortage: 1) primary medical; 2) dental; and 3) mental health.

What qualifies as a HPSA?

A Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) is a geographic area, population, or facility with a shortage of primary care, dental, or mental health providers and services.

What is the difference between HPSA and MUA?

MUA is the acronym for a Medically Underserved Area. MUP stands for Medically Underserved Population. These names are types of physician shortage designations that are sister programs to the Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA), and they provide similar benefits to communities throughout the nation.

Who are the medically underserved?

(7) The term “medically underserved population” means the population of an urban or rural area designated by the Secretary as an area with a shortage of personal health services or a population group designated by the Secretary as having a shortage of such services.

What does your HPSA score affect?

Changes in HPSA scores may affect a participants’ facility competitive status for the National Health Service Corps (NHSC) and the Nurse Corps Scholarship and Nurse Corps Loan Repayment programs. A facility HPSA score change will not affect the participants’ current NHSC and Nurse Corps contract.

What is considered a high HPSA score?

Primary medical care HPSAs with scores of: 18 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who are primary care physicians or primary care nurse practitioners; 5 and above are authorized for the assignment of primary care physician assistants; and.

Which type of health care setting must be located in or serve a medically underserved area?

Health centers must be located in or serve a designated Medically Underserved Area (MUA) or serve a designated Medically Underserved Population (MUP).

What is Medicare HPSA?

The Medicare program provides incentive payments to physicians who render services in a health professional shortage area (HPSA). HPSA is an urban or rural area designated as having a shortage of healthcare professionals.

What does HPSA proposed for withdrawal mean?

As such, we ask that you delay the effective withdrawal date for HPSAs designated as “proposed for withdrawal” by at least one year. In general, HPSAs are designated for shortages of primary care, dental or mental health professionals in certain geographic areas, population groups and/or facilities.

What does a Hpsa score mean?

HPSA Scores are developed for use by the National Health Service Corps to determine priorities for the assignment of clinicians. Scores range from 1 to 25 for primary care and mental health, 1 to 26 for dental health. The higher the score, the greater the priority.

What is the difference between a medically underserved area and a medically underserved population?

MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED AREAS (MUAs) & MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED POPULATIONS (MUPs) MUAs and MUPs, like HPSAs, are federally designated. The MUA is a designation for a geographic area while the MUP is for a specific population within a geographic area, such as the medically indigent or migrant and seasonal farmworkers.

Which most accurately defines a medically underserved area?

Feedback: A medically underserved area (MUA) is an area with a lack of medical care services as determined by the number of primary medical care physicians per 1,000 population, infant mortality rate, percentage of the population with incomes below the poverty level, and percentage of the population aged 65 or older.

What makes a community underserved?

Brief Summary: The US federal agency Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) under the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) defines underserved and vulnerable populations as populations that face health, financial, educational, and/or housing disparities, such as “facing barriers that make it difficult …

What does it mean to work with the underserved?

Working with underserved communities gives you an opportunity to learn about an entirely different subgroup of the population. Poverty, for example, is rampant in underserved populations, and it causes a host of medical complications that often go untreated.

What does an underserved area mean?

Underserved definition (medicine) In regard to health services, refers to populations which are disadvantaged because of ability to pay, ability to access care, ability to access comprehensive healthcare, or other disparities for reasons of race, religion, language group or social status.

What does a HPSA score of 16 mean?

Primary medical care HPSAs with scores of 19 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who are primary care physicians, primary care nurse practitioners, or primary care physician assistants; primary medical care HPSAs with scores of 16 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who …

How often are HPSA scores updated?

How often are HPSA designations reviewed? HPSA designations must be updated every three years. At 3.5 years, the Federal Government is able to withdraw the designation and the benefits that go with it.

What does proposed for withdrawal mean?

What does it mean if a HPSA designation is ‘proposed for withdrawal’? A HPSA that is ‘proposed for withdrawal’ indicates that the area no longer meets the federal criteria necessary to be designated a shortage area.

How competitive is Nurse Corps scholarship?

The NURSE Corps Scholarship application process is highly competitive. The NURSE Corps received thousands of applications from more than 700 schools across the country. Less than 10 percent of the applicants received the scholarship.

What is a NHSC approved site?

NHSC-approved sites provide outpatient, primary health care services to people in Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) Sites must contact their State Primary Care Office (PCO) when applying for, or inquiring about, a HPSA designation.

What is an Hpsa quizlet?

Health Professional Shortage Areas. HPSAs are designations that indicate health care provider shortages in which of the following. dental. mental. primary.

Which of the following is an example of a voluntary agency?

The American Cancer Society is an example of a voluntary agency.

What are examples of underserved communities?

Underserved groups refer to populations that do not have adequate access to medical care. This includes rural, elderly, low-literacy, blue collar, and poor populations. Minorities per se are not included, but often belong to one or more or the included categories.

What are rural health services?

In medicine, rural health or rural medicine is the interdisciplinary study of health and health care delivery in rural environments. The concept of rural health incorporates many fields, including geography, midwifery, nursing, sociology, economics, and telehealth or telemedicine.

Which of the following is excluded from Medicare coverage?

Non-medical services, including a private hospital room, hospital television and telephone, canceled or missed appointments, and copies of x-rays. Most non-emergency transportation, including ambulette services. Certain preventive services, including routine foot care.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!