What is the meaning of Convention on Biological Diversity?

Convention on Biological Diversity, also called Biodiversity Treaty, international treaty designed to promote the conservation of biodiversity and to ensure the sustainable use and equitable sharing of genetic resources.

What is the main objective of the Convention on Biological Diversity?

It has 3 main objectives: 1/ The conservation of biological diversity 2/ The sustainable use of the components of biological diversity 3/ The fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising out of the utilization of genetic resources.

What are the three main goals of the Convention on Biological Diversity?

The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) is an international legally-binding treaty with three main goals: conservation of biodiversity; sustainable use of biodiversity; and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits arising from the use of genetic resources.

When was the biological diversity Convention?

The Convention was opened for signature at the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro on 5 June 1992 and entered into force on 29 December 1993. The United States is the only UN member state which has not ratified the Convention. It has two supplementary agreements, the Cartagena Protocol and Nagoya Protocol.

What does Cites stand for?

Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora. CITES is an international agreement, signed by 184 parties, designed to ensure that international trade in animals and plants does not threaten their survival in the wild.

Who is the father of biodiversity?

Teton Science Schools would like to acknowledge the passing of preeminent scientist, naturalist, author and teacher, Edward O. Wilson, Ph. D. He is known as “the father of biodiversity”.

What are the 4 types of biodiversity?

Biodiversity is in the form of biological resources, including genes, species, organisms, and ecosystems. Thus, the four main levels of biodiversity are species, genetic, ecosystem, and global biodiversity.

What are the 3 types of biodiversity?

Usually three levels of biodiversity are discussed—genetic, species, and ecosystem diversity. Genetic diversity is all the different genes contained in all individual plants, animals, fungi, and microorganisms.

Which city is the host of Convention on Biological Diversity in 2022?

Featured Events. The ninth session of the Plenary of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES 9) took place in Bonn, Germany, from 3 to 9 July 2022. 139 Member States held conversations on biodiversity conservation…

What is the disadvantage of Convention on Biological Diversity?

Weaknesses: There is no mechanism to implement all aspects of the Strategic Plan and limited support to enable countries to fulfill their obligations and aspirations.

Why is biological diversity important?

Biodiversity is essential for the processes that support all life on Earth, including humans. Without a wide range of animals, plants and microorganisms, we cannot have the healthy ecosystems that we rely on to provide us with the air we breathe and the food we eat. And people also value nature of itself.

What is an example of a biodiversity?

Most people recognize biodiversity by species—a group of individual living organisms that can interbreed. Examples of species include blue whales, white-tailed deer, white pine trees, sunflowers, and microscopic bacteria that can’t even be seen by the naked eye.

What is the importance of the Convention on biological Diversities in sustaining and maintaining the ecological balance of our habitat?

Greater species diversity ensures natural sustainability for all life forms. Healthy ecosystems can better withstand and recover from a variety of disasters.

Why are CITES important?

CITES regulates international trade in over 36,000 species of plants and animals, including their products and derivatives, ensuring their survival in the wild with benefits for the livelihoods of local people and the global environment.

What is CITES and what is its objective?

CITES, which stands for the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, is a global agreement among governments to regulate or ban international trade in species under threat.

What is an example of CITES?

While the more charismatic creatures, such as bears and whales, may be the better known examples of CITES species, the most numerous groups include many less popularized plants and animals, such as aloes, corals, mussels and frogs.

Who first used biodiversity?

In 1985, Walter G. Rosen first coined the term ‘Biodiversity’. It is a compound word of the longer form ‘Biological diversity’ which was coined by Lovejoy in 1980 to denote the number of species present in a group.

Who used the term biodiversity first time?

In his recent interview with BioScience (Verdier 2021), John Burris repeated the well-known story that the term biodiversity was introduced in the late 1980s by Walter G. Rosen of the National Academy of Sciences. In the first book with biodiversity in its title (Wilson 1988), the editor, E. O.

What are the three types of ecosystems?

There are three broad categories of ecosystems based on their general environment: freshwater, marine, and terrestrial.

What are 5 reasons why biodiversity is important?

  • Biodiversity ensures health and food security. Biodiversity underpins global nutrition and food security.
  • Biodiversity helps fight disease. Higher rates of biodiversity have been linked to an increase in human health.
  • Biodiversity benefits business.
  • Biodiversity provides livelihoods.
  • Biodiversity protects us.

What are the 7 components of biodiversity?

  • Genetic Diversity. Every species on Earth is related to every other species through genetic connections.
  • Species Diversity. Species diversity is the variety of species within a habitat or a region.
  • Ecological Diversity.
  • Biodiversity Agreements.
  • Human Impact.
  • Conservation.

What are the 10 ways to protect biodiversity?

  • Government legislation.
  • Nature preserves.
  • Reducing invasive species.
  • Habitat restoration.
  • Captive breeding and seed banks.
  • Research.
  • Reduce climate change.
  • Purchase sustainable products.

What are the main types of biodiversity?

The three types of biodiversity are: Species Diversity. Genetic Diversity. Ecological Diversity.

What are main causes of biodiversity loss?

  • Climate change.
  • Pollution.
  • Destruction of habitats.
  • Invasive alien species.
  • Overexploitation of the natural environment.

What is the theme of biodiversity 2022?

The theme in 2022 is “Building a shared future for all life”.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!