What qualifies as a HPSA?

A Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) is a geographic area, population, or facility with a shortage of primary care, dental, or mental health providers and services.

What are the three types of health professional shortage areas HPSA )?

There are three categories of HPSA designation based on the health discipline that is experiencing a shortage: 1) primary medical; 2) dental; and 3) mental health.

What is the difference between HPSA and MUA?

MUA is the acronym for a Medically Underserved Area. MUP stands for Medically Underserved Population. These names are types of physician shortage designations that are sister programs to the Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA), and they provide similar benefits to communities throughout the nation.

Who are the medically underserved?

(7) The term “medically underserved population” means the population of an urban or rural area designated by the Secretary as an area with a shortage of personal health services or a population group designated by the Secretary as having a shortage of such services.

What is considered a high HPSA score?

Primary medical care HPSAs with scores of: 18 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who are primary care physicians or primary care nurse practitioners; 5 and above are authorized for the assignment of primary care physician assistants; and.

What is the highest HPSA score?

Scores range from 1 to 25 for primary care and mental health, 1 to 26 for dental health. The higher the score, the greater the priority.

What is HPSA bonus?

The Medicare HPSA Physician Bonus Program includes only geographic primary care and mental health HPSAs. Bonus Payment. We pay a 10% quarterly bonus when you. deliver Medicare-covered services to Medicare. patients in a geographic HPSA.

What does your HPSA score affect?

Changes in HPSA scores may affect a participants’ facility competitive status for the National Health Service Corps (NHSC) and the Nurse Corps Scholarship and Nurse Corps Loan Repayment programs. A facility HPSA score change will not affect the participants’ current NHSC and Nurse Corps contract.

Which type of health care setting must be located in or serve a medically underserved area?

Health centers must be located in or serve a designated Medically Underserved Area (MUA) or serve a designated Medically Underserved Population (MUP).

What is MUA designation?

Medically Underserved Areas (MUAs) and Medically Underserved Populations (MUPs) Exceptional Medically Underserved Population (Exceptional MUP) Governor’s-Designated Secretary-Certified Shortage Areas for Rural Health Clinics.

Who are underserved populations?

Underserved groups refer to populations that do not have adequate access to medical care. This includes rural, elderly, low-literacy, blue collar, and poor populations. Minorities per se are not included, but often belong to one or more or the included categories.

What is the difference between a medically underserved area and a medically underserved population?

MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED AREAS (MUAs) & MEDICALLY UNDERSERVED POPULATIONS (MUPs) MUAs and MUPs, like HPSAs, are federally designated. The MUA is a designation for a geographic area while the MUP is for a specific population within a geographic area, such as the medically indigent or migrant and seasonal farmworkers.

What does it mean to work with the underserved?

Working with underserved communities gives you an opportunity to learn about an entirely different subgroup of the population. Poverty, for example, is rampant in underserved populations, and it causes a host of medical complications that often go untreated.

What percentage of the U.S. is medically underserved?

Health Care Deserts: Nearly 80 Percent Of Rural U.S. Designated As ‘Medically Underserved’ | Kaiser Health News.

What makes a community underserved?

Brief Summary: The US federal agency Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) under the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) defines underserved and vulnerable populations as populations that face health, financial, educational, and/or housing disparities, such as “facing barriers that make it difficult …

What does a HPSA score of 16 mean?

Primary medical care HPSAs with scores of 19 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who are primary care physicians, primary care nurse practitioners, or primary care physician assistants; primary medical care HPSAs with scores of 16 and above are authorized for the assignment of NHSC scholars who …

How competitive is Nurse Corps scholarship?

The NURSE Corps Scholarship application process is highly competitive. The NURSE Corps received thousands of applications from more than 700 schools across the country. Less than 10 percent of the applicants received the scholarship.

How often are HPSA scores updated?

How often are HPSA designations reviewed? HPSA designations must be updated every three years. At 3.5 years, the Federal Government is able to withdraw the designation and the benefits that go with it.

What does HRSA stand for?

Health Resources and Services Administration | HRSA. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Health Resources & Services Administration. Bureaus and Offices.

How many Americans live in primary care shortage areas?

An estimated 11,226,111 people in California live in an area that has a shortage of primary care providers.

Does a patient in a traditional fee for service plan always pay higher fees?

No, a participating provider in a traditional fee-for-service plan does not always get paid more for a service than a nonparticipating provider who does not accept assignment.

What does the modifier AQ mean?

Description. HCPCS Modifier AQ — physician providing a service in an unlisted Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA).

What is an Hpsa quizlet?

Health Professional Shortage Areas. HPSAs are designations that indicate health care provider shortages in which of the following. dental. mental. primary.

What does proposed for withdrawal mean?

What does it mean if a HPSA designation is ‘proposed for withdrawal’? A HPSA that is ‘proposed for withdrawal’ indicates that the area no longer meets the federal criteria necessary to be designated a shortage area.

How many counties in Texas are medically underserved?

Most of Texas’ 177 rural counties, home to more than 3 million people, are considered medically underserved. This health care gap can partly be explained by what experts call the “payer mix” problem.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!